Studio Update: Keep On With The Keeping On

Phew! Summer is really coming in quickly, isn’t it?! I can’t believe it’s already getting to be the middle of May. Where did all the time go? Before I know it I’m going to *hopefully* be moving into an apartment in Boston. (I am trying my very hardest to make sure I can attend SMFA in the fall!) Oh, and getting married 🙂 Yes, that. 🙂

So, the studio has definitely been a flourish of activity lately.

As I mentioned in my last studio update , I am working on a new line for my esty shop, FabulouslyFeminist, called ‘Have A Gay Day’. They even have cute little tags I made up!

Anywho – I finally got these cute sticker sets carved, printed and listed. I know I think they’re pretty great, but I guess I could be biased.

Another little project, which I am HOPING will soon come to fruition, is an Anti Slut-Shaming Zine. This is the first zine I have ever attempted to make. Mostly, I just wanted to create something that would give a little more background information on what Slut Shaming is, why it’s so bad and some things we can all do to end it. Plus, I was really encouraged, after my post, ‘But Is It Feminist:Slut Shaming’ started taking up a large chunk of my daily traffic. That’s pretty exciting – it tells me people are looking for ways to change the ways they think and talk about female sexuality. (At least, I hope!)

Zine Cover Sneak Peak

Zine Cover Sneak Peak

So, I did a combination of things for the zine. I drew some fun pattern-thinggies in my sketchbook and scanned them into my computer. Then I edited them a little so they would print nicely in black and white and added text. I wanted to keep things simple (I know it’s actually kind of plain as far as zines go) because the information is the most important part. They’ll all be printed on recycled paper, and will include a set of 4 anti-slut shaming stickers.

Stop by Witch Craft to read a very sweet blog post about my work over in my Etsy Shop ❤

Ok, last bit of shop talk!

Pretty great, right?

Pretty great, right?

Check out this picture one of my really awesome customers sent me! She stuck my stickers on her guitar – and they look great! ❤ Fabulous Feminists!

While all of this great stuff has been going on, I have also been working on three other projects:

1) Project Rise Above Rape Culture – I am currently collaborating with Amy Toxic (and we are seeking one or two additional artists!) We are thinking about working with textiles, and that’s pretty darn cool!

2) I finally got some time in on this painting I started an age ago. I need to finish it before I move (read, before I start going crazy getting ready to move and to get married)

painitng process

Well, here it is! I feel pretty good about it right this second.

Detail

Detail 1

Detail 2

Detail 2

3) I have been slowly, slowly working on this dress I will be constructing out of many sections of sewn flower petals. Originally, I was thinking it would be a sort of peacock dress, but now I just have no idea.

I have a few of these sections now... They're pretty, at least.

I have a few of these sections now… They’re pretty, at least.

Here's one I'm still working on

Here’s one I’m still working on

Have thoughts? Please share!