Sandra Chevrier: Don’t forget that it is the lioness that goes out there to hunt

If you’re a fan of Hi-Fructose (and you should be!) you are probably already at least a little bit familiar with the work of Montreal-based artist Sandra Chevrier.

La Cage bordee de fleurs ocres, 30X24, acrylique, 2013

La Cage bordee de fleurs ocres
30×24
acrylic
2013

Her work is entirely composed of portraits of young women. I enjoy the push and pull of the surface of the paint, from very tight, refined, almost photo-realistic, to rough, emotional marks that both give the women physicality and contain them in their painting worlds.

la cage bordce de fleurs rouges 12x12 acrylic 2013

la cage bordce de fleurs rouges
12×12
acrylic
2013

The hair is really intriguing to me in these women. Chevrier uses simple marks to imply volume and shape, which simultaneously gives you the impression of full hair being there, but also flattens it out like a 2-d drawing, rather than a painting representing a 3-d object. The styling of the hair and the poses of some of the portraits recall Renaissance-style masters and neo-classical portraits. Those were certainly paintings obsessed with proper feminine beauty.

La cage au chemisier rouge 30x24 acrylic 2013

La cage au chemisier rouge
30×24
acrylic
2013

The series “cages” is about women trying to find freedom from the cages of societies twisted preconceptions of what a woman should or shouldn’t be. These women encased in these cages of brash imposing paint that masks their very personhood symbolises the struggle that women go thru with having these cages of this expectation of false beauty and perfection on them and of the limitations society places on them, corrupting what truly makes women beautiful by putting them in these prisons of identity. (Mirus Gallery)

La Cage ou le noir aimerait etre une couleur, 40X30, 2012

La cage ou le noir aimerait etre une couleur
40×30
2012

You know what is so damn impressive about Chevrier, other than the fact that her paintings are just so great? She is a machine! Seriously, take a look at her website. You’ll notice she produces like, a million paintings a year.

la cage tout en couleurs quand le soleil tombe sur nous 40x30 2012

la cage tout en couleurs quand le soleil tombe sur nous
40×30
2012

The work that seems to be getting the most attention at the moment are her series of collaged portraits, using popular comic book imagery like superheros Wonder Woman and Superman.

La Cage o si seulement, papier vlin 11X14, mdium mixtes, 2013

la gae o si seulement, papier vlin
11×14
collage
2013

La Cage où la guerre est un jeu

La Cage ou la guerre est un jeu

La Cage où le coeur battait comme un tambour

La Cage ou le coeur battait comme un tambour

La Cage ou les gens pleurent, mixmedia 11X14, on paper,2013

La Cage ou les gens pleurent
mixed media on paper
11×14 2013

La Cage qui guérira de ses blessures

La Cage qui guerira de ses blessures

It’s definitely interesting to compare these pieces with Chevrier’s earlier work, dealing with iconographic consumerist imagery (found on her myspace)

Always30X60octobre2011

I am a newly full-time mom, and if I could buy time, I would gladly invest money in it! But working as an artist is a particular thing, and, though I adore my son and cherish the time I spend with him, creating is for me a necessity, a haunting need. People of my entourage help me make time to spend creating. I don’t hesitate to put my paintbrush to work when my son is napping or during any other free time I get. Luckily, I am able to creatively perform on short scale and my work process is well-planned. (Chevrier for SunriseArtists)

112

For the artists and creators, the Web is a wonderful opportunity to be seen, to discover other fellow artists, get comments from our fans and get connections in the artistic circle. Therefore, as soon as I finish a piece, I expose it on the web. I spend a couple of hours weekly to update my websites, but I wish I would get more time to write my Blog. I can’t do much more than scribbling a couple of words and what I would really like is to write down a full analysis of my art and my pieces. I believe it would be much appreciated from my readers, but it would also enable me to ponder on my work and understand the choices I make only relying on instinct. Most of my free time is dedicated to my actual practice – painting – on which I spend an average of fifteen hours per week. (Chevrier for SunriseArtists)

001

I believe that art travels well through Internet, without any obligation for the artist to travel. Some of my fans live across the world and have discovered my art by chance. On the other hand, in order to meet gallery owners, art dealers and collectors, I believe it is important to be present and to participate in different events, which evidently requires getting close to the action. (Chevrier for SunriseArtists)

096

It is important to believe in what we do, to be passionate about it and to be well connected. I don’t believe that being a woman today is a drawback in the business world. Don’t forget that it is the lioness that goes out there to hunt! (Chevrier for SunriseArtists)

One response to “Sandra Chevrier: Don’t forget that it is the lioness that goes out there to hunt

Have thoughts? Please share!

